Lakeside

8 Aug

I’ve always found water to be soothing. The sounds, the smells (most of the time haha), the feeling of swimming…I loved swimming, and was fortunate enough to grow up with a pool in my backyard. 
On weekends, we would head to Lime Lake, where my grandparents owned a cottage. We’d swim, water ski, tube and just relax. I. Loved. It.

 

one of the first times we ever went there together

  
After we got married, we started to camp more. We headed to Indian Lake in the Adirondacks and fell in love with the paddle, camp on an island, hike, swim, watch incredible sunsets over the lake lifestyle. This summer is the first in a very long time that we didn’t spend our anniversary there…and man did I miss it.

 

home is wherever i am with you

 
 

and if we love the water, picasso super loves it

 
 

seeing if it sinks…then seeing if you can paddle a sinking canoe…

 

just chilling

We went to Bermuda for our  friends’ wedding. Of all the places I’ve ever been, I think it’s my favorite. Because it’s such a small island, there were beaches and water everywhere. 

a girl could get used to these views

  

exploring one of many incredible beaches

 
When training for my road marathons, I planned long runs to cut up to the lake, where I’d run with Lake Ontario to my right and one of many ponds (the size of small lakes) to my left. I would run by the waterfront houses and daydream about living in them. Water made those runs beautiful. They flew by. 

When I switched to trail running, Durand quickly became my favorite–running around all the ponds was the best!

  

Of my Facebook cover photos, the majority seem to have water (or have been taken while I was very near water). 

So…I love the water. It’s soothing and calming and beautiful. I feel happiest, most centered in places where there is water nearby.  And Eric loves it as much as me.

We have talked about buying a house lake front for a long time. We didn’t know if we could afford it. We started looking,mostly for fun. Nothing serious. We like our little house. It’s served us well. We recently looked and realized there was a house we really liked. It reminded me a little bit of my grandparents’ cottage at Lime Lake. 
We put in an offer..and it was accepted!!!! Holy hell we are thisclose to living ON water…not visiting it, not vacationing to it…actually living there. 
Tonight after we finished the race stuff, we decided to drive up toward the house to see it again. I’ve been telling Eric all weekend to temper his excitement. “Don’t move in yet,” says Oliver, our realtor. We still have a home inspection and selling our home to get through. 
But tonight, watching Eric walk out on our dock (yeah…it’s apparently ours in my mind haha) I got so happy. So peaceful. Content. This could be my view every day.  

  
I feel so lucky. Like how did I ever even get to this point??? How do u deserve this amazing life??? I don’t know. I just have my fingers crossed all over the place that this works and next summer we’ll be swimming off that dock and enjoying lake front living.

One Response to “Lakeside”

  1. nomeatbarefeet August 8, 2016 at 2:52 pm #

    That is so awesome! I hope everything works out and your next post is a shy of your feet kicked up on a chair drinking a beer with the the lake in the background. Congrats.

Leave a Reply

