Potato Zucchini Patties–another new recipe hooray!

15 Jul

Before we left for camp, I noticed that our zucchini plants had a number of small zucc’s already there…they were kind of tiny to pick, but I didn’t want them to rot and I wanted the plant to keep making more squash.  So I picked some of the little guys, took them to camp, proceeded not to use them at all, brought them home with us AND had some MASSIVE zucchini growing on the plants when we got home.

The top ones are the ones from before we left (smallish sized ones you could buy at the grocery store).  The bottom guys are the ones from when we got home!

The top ones are the ones from before we left (smallish sized ones you could buy at the grocery store). The bottom guys are the ones from when we got home!

I started researching what to do with all this squash (there are more growing already!) and someone (Elyse I think?) sent me this recipe for zucchini potato fritters.  I decided to give them a try.

It seemed to take a very long time to prep this recipe, and neither Eric nor I was particularly excited about the end results.  Eric said all he could taste was the carrot.  All I could taste was the thyme.  And I made a mess of them trying to pan fry them.

I was annoyed and frustrated that the experiment had “failed” (Eric: “Why do you always say ‘failed’ when things always taste fine?”), but then I decided to see if I could tweak the recipe to make it a. something we liked better by using more ingredients we love (and leaving out carrots and thyme, which we aren’t huge fans of) and b. something with at least a little protein in it.  I came up with a concoction that I think worked well…although I do want to tweak it some more.  In any event, these were pretty good, so here’s what I did.  Please note: I rarely use measuring cups/spoons, so my measurements are approximate. The beauty of cooking (and not baking)!

1.  Peel and cut up about 1 cup worth of potato.  Boil until you can stick a fork in easily.  Drain and let cool.

2.  While the potato is boiling, grate about 1 cup worth of zucchini into a small bowl.  When I make this next, I will probably use more zucc, but at least 1 cup is good.  Add a little salt and leave the zucchini to sit and “sweat out” some of the liquid.  Try not to be grossed out by the fact that your food is “sweating out” anything.

3.  Also while the potato is boiling, dice 1/4 cup onion.  [Side note: I. LOVE. ONION.  I rarely think anything is too onion-y.  If you aren’t an onion fan/if this seems like too much onion, you should use less onion…]

4.  In a larger bowl, mash your potato.  Don’t add milk or butter or anything–just smoosh that sucker up real good.

5. Then add in the onion.

6. Squeeze the liquid out of the zucchini–apparently you can use a cheesecloth for this, but who has one of those??? I picked up the zucc in my hands and just squeezed over the sink.  When most of the extra liquid’s out, add the zucchini to your potato mixture.

7. Add 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder.  [Additional side note: I. ALSO. LOVE. GARLIC.  I know. Onion AND garlic.  Eric is so lucky, right?  Again, if this seems extreme to you, don’t add as much.  It’s cool.]

8.  In the bowl you had your zucchini in (because why dirty another bowl?), beat one large egg.  Add to the potato mixture and stir well.

hahaha there are dish towels with funny sayings like this on them...I think I need them...

hahaha there are dish towels with funny sayings like this on them…I think I need them…

9.  Add 1/4 cup flour to the mixture.  You may need to add a little more.  This will form a mooshy paste-y conglomeration.  You will, like me, think “Shme, there is no way this is going to work.”  It will.  Trust me.  Put the bowl in the fridge for 10-20 minutes.  Allegedly this will help hold the patties together AND they’ll absorb less oil.  IDK if this is actually a fact…  I put the potato mix in the fridge and cleaned up the kitchen from the prepping.

10.  Put enough oil into a skillet to coat the bottom of the pan. Heat it on low-medium heat.  Make sure it’s hot…give it a few minutes so it really is hot enough.  Be patient, young grasshopper (I am SO not patient with anything other than kids…)

11.  Now drop spoonfuls of the potato mixture into the pan.  Flatten slightly as you drop them to make little patties.  Leave them to sit for 5 minutes before trying to flip.  IMPORTANT: Do not try to flip them early–not that I tried to do that or anything…I am a very patient person…I would never get anxious and try to flip food too early…  So yeah, leave them for 5ish minutes to cook.  If, when you start to flip them, they are not goldeny brown on the bottoms, leave them for another minute or two.  When they are golden, flip and cook on the other side for another 5ish minutes.  Then take out, drain on a paper-towel-covered plate.  Serve with ketchup (because I love ketchup, too)!

When I plugged this recipe into my My Fitness Pal App, here’s what it says:

zucc

That makes them really high in fat (granted I didn’t measure how much canola oil I used, so I just put in 3 tablespoons in the app, which I think is probably really high and also the oil isn’t actually mixed into the recipe, but I don’t think there’s any way to account for it otherwise, so I just put it all into the recipe).  At least it’s mostly unsaturated fat…  In any event, next time I will try doing this with half a cup potato and half a cup of tofu and try to mess around with My Fitness Pal because I’m really curious how nutritious (or not) these things actually are…I mean, it’s just potato, zucchini and a little egg and flour…should be relatively healthy I think…

So to recap:

1.  We are going to use up all the zucchini if it kills me.  Stay tuned for other recipes I try…

2.  I love potatoes, onions, garlic and ketchup.

zucc

bringin it…or trying anyway…

Leave a Reply

