This year

1 Jan

 

I saw this meme/photo/journal prompt on pinterest and thought it was kind of cool, so I copied the prompts below with my answers.  I’m not one for making big resolutions or anything–I feel like if I realize something needs improvement in my life, I’m going to improve it without waiting for a certain time of the year.  But I guess being reflective and setting goals is a good thing.  So here goes:

10 high points of 2014 (in no particular order)

1.  Finishing my first 50k with new friends (Kevin and Liz) and hand-in-hand with Eric.  We were going to do a marathon together…but what’s another 5 miles?

2.  Finishing the Mendon Trail Runs 50k, a race I’d previously said I’d never do because it was too hard and I wasn’t good enough.

3.  Bagging my first ADK 46 peak.

4.  Our annual ADK summer anniversary trip, with additional time this year for a stop in the high peaks, which was SO MUCH FUN!

5.  Fall camping at Allegany–allllll alone and lovely.

6.  Lake Placid for Christmas–the best holiday we’ve ever had.

7.  The Run ‘Em All/Hike ‘Em All Challenge at Letchworth–over a week and a half, we ran/hiked every single trail in the park (including a 3 day backpacking stint).

8.  Lake Placid Snowshoe Trip  last January, my first time to Placid as an adult!

9.  Aid station crewing at 2 major ultras–the Cayuga Trails 50 and Virgil Ultra Crest.  Aid station-ing and helping runners (including elites, like my favorite, Krissy Moehl!) and hanging out and camping with a bunch of friends at camp…what more could you want in a volunteer experience???

10.  A wonderful weekend, particularly this visit with my little siblings–everyone is growing up so much, and I’m finally starting to accept that most of us are not kids any more, but that we can still care for each other and be there for each other.  The relationships are changing, but in cool ways.

A bad habit I’m going to break

I like for things in the house to be clean, but I am much less concerned with “neatness.”  [Eric is the opposite of this.] This year, I’d like to work on being neater.  In that vein, I want to try to keep our counter tops and end tables more tidy.  Last night, I cleared almost everything off of them for our New Years Eve party, and I liked how clean everything looked with nothing cluttering up the surfaces.

A new skill I’d like to learn

We’ve spent 2 days this week out on mountain bikes cruising around Eric’s fat tire bike race course.  I am pretty pathetic on a bike (I run faster than I bike). I am extremely unconfident on a bike.  I therefore do not really enjoy myself on a bike.  Riding on the road is particularly terrifying to me, as is having to rush to keep up with someone who I’m with (especially when that person is a way better cyclist than me, which is pretty much everyone).  That being said, today, the worst weather conditions possible for riding, I really enjoyed myself.  Early on in the ride, I found the “new” short section of trail on the course.  I went through the first time, almost bit it, jumped off my seat, but not in time to avoid a crotch shot from the bike.  I walked my bike out of the trail and said F that.  But when I came around the loop again, I decided to give it another shot.  I made it about 10 feet farther than I had the first time, got back on, bit it again after about 20 feet, and walked my bike out. At this point I got kind of pissed–so I went back to the start of the trail, and rode it again…this time, I made it all the way to the last turn before falling. I probably only fell because I was so excited that I thought I was going to make it through that I lost focus. Back to the start I went, and this time, I made it all the way through without falling or having to stop!!!  Maybe it was just a lucky fluke, my brain said.  Back to the start, one more time, and once again, I made it through!!!  I was pumped.  So this year, I’d like to practice mountain biking more.  I need to learn how to trust myself, use the gears to actually help me, and ride up and downhills.  So pretty much I need to learn how to ride a bike.

the boys across the pond. someday maybe I will be good enough to ride with them...or  maybe they'll even have to chase me to keep up!

the boys across the pond. someday maybe I will be good enough to ride with them…or maybe they’ll even have to chase me to keep up!

A person I hope to be more like

Of course, this is my Oma.  Compassionate, hard-working, brave beyond words and forgiving…She has always been and will always be one of my biggest inspirations.

new years

A place I’d like to visit

I can name about a billion places, but none of them are really technically within our means, financially.  I do, however, know that I want to spend a significant amount of time this year in the Adirondacks.  When I look at my top 10 moments of 2014, most of them involve camping/being outdoors.  I want it.  I crave it.  We’ve already got our anniversary Indian Lake trip booked, and we’ll probably squeeze in some high peaks time before that.  I would like to do some additional long weekends, though, and do some more of the high peaks this winter/spring.  It’s so pretty up there, and I want to climb as much as possible and see as much as possible while we’re young and able, because there are no guarantees of what tomorrow will bring.

new years3

if you're lucky enough to be on the lake...then you're lucky enough!

if you’re lucky enough to be on the lake…then you’re lucky enough!

A book I’d like to read

Last year, I did a 52 books in 2014 challenge.  I didn’t meet my goal, which was pretty lofty to begin with (but 42 books ain’t half bad….that’s roughly one book every 8.5 days).  If we counted the thousands of pages of NYS curriculum I’ve read this year, as I’m learning 2nd, 6th and 7th grade curriculums all at once, then I guess I’d have been there.  😛  That being said, I’d like to give myself the same challenge this year–52 books.  I love to read, but it’s easy to get distracted by other things and not do it.  This kept me on track for sure.  I’m looking forward to many more amazing books, and will keep an updated list on my blog in case anyone else is looking for book recommendations.

a really good way to spend a chilly evening...

a really good way to spend a chilly evening…

A letter I’m going to write

Once a month this year, I’d like to send a random card to a random person.  Because getting mail that is not bills is exciting, and sending real mail is a “lost art” that should be brought back.  🙂

A new food I’d like to try

I don’t know of any foods I haven’t had that I really should eat, otherwise I’d have already eaten them.  I do know that I like trying new recipes and experimenting a bit with food to try to find better, healthier options for us.  So this year, at least once a month I will try a new recipe.  I mostly enjoy cooking (although clean-up afterwards is awful).  I have pinned about 12370647245742572 recipes, and it’s time to start trying some of them so I can delete them or move them to a “keep” file.

I’m going to do better at

2015–the year of being assertive.  If you are an assertive person, feel free to pass on some tips to me. This year, I am working to be better at standing up for myself in an assertive way. When you see me being passive or wishy-washy or getting walked on, please remind me that I need to fight…for my right…to paaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarty!!!  Seriously though.  Gentle reminders never hurt…

I’m looking forward to making 2015 another stellar year.  I have no idea what’s in store, but I do know that if it’s anything like 2014, it’ll be good stuff!!  Thank you to everyone who played a role in making 2014 a special year! ❤

2 Responses to “This year”

  1. bmpicc January 1, 2015 at 8:03 pm #

    I did the 52 letters in 2014. I am probably going to write a post about it. A few people wrote me back, but it was so much more to me. I loved taking some time to think about someone and put it all into words… it was kind of amazing. My new thing is Thank you cards. I am going to be better about thank you cards because I want the boys to remember to always be thankful.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2015 Goals | Trails2Brews - January 2, 2015

    […] So that’s really it – 7 simple goals that will keep me busy all year. You can read all about Sheilas goals here […]

Leave a Reply

