some pre-50k thoughts

30 Oct

I can’t believe that I’m 2 days away from running my second 50k.

 

In a year.

 

On a course that I swore up and down 2 years ago that I would never EVER run.  Because it’s a hilly course.  Which means it’s too hard.  And I don’t do “hard.”

 

But hard is a relative term.  Because there are a lot of things that I do regularly that people would say are “hard.” There are races and distances I’ve already covered that people would say are “hard.”   And sometimes I think my running is not “special,” but when I really stop to think about it, I’m pretty proud of how far I’ve come, even if it’s not “special.”  I’m not particularly fast, but every running goal I’ve set for myself, I’ve met.

 

In any event, I’m not scared for Saturday.  I feel very ready–likely the most ready I’ve ever been for any distance event I’ve run (not that there are THAT many, but still).  I’ve put in the training for sure–3 20-milers, a handful of 18s, and more mid-week longish runs (10ish miles) than I’ve ever done (in fact, I’m not sure I’ve ever run 10 miles on one night in the middle of the week).  I’ve done hill repeats to prepare my lungs as best as I can for what is sure to be a miserable experience for them.  And Eric and I have been going to the gym regularly.  I am stronger now than I’ve ever been, and there’s a part of me that wants to register for a road marathon a couple of weeks from now, just to see how much stronger (because it’s really impossible to quantify the gains I’ve made by looking at times on trails…I don’t really have many trail race times (plus trails are all so different), so I’d have to compare against road times, which is just silly).  There’s a part of me that wants to keep up this training all winter and spring and go back to Philly for the Dirty German again, so I can compare there.

 

I’m as ready as I’ll be for Saturday.  I have no real “time goals” for this race–I just want to finish it.  Because there was a time when I was scared of the course.  I was scared of the distance.  And it’s nice to know I’m not scared anymore, and that if I say I’m going to do something, I get it done.  It’s not always pretty or pleasant, but it gets taken care of.

 

So here’s to a good day on Saturday and more importantly good friends, great conversations, foam rolling, a long hot shower and delicious mac n cheese when it’s all over!

 

3 Responses to “some pre-50k thoughts”

  1. nomeatbarefeet October 30, 2014 at 11:51 am #

    As you say, leave those expectations at home and just run to run; run to finish; run to be with friends; run towards beer(?); run to see what you are capable of…because just signing up for a second 50k is crazy, and just showing up for a second 50k is going to be crazier, and just FINISHING your second 50k…well that is a rare thing indeed. Good luck!

  2. Amber October 30, 2014 at 1:11 pm #

    I can’t wait to hear about the day. You are an inspiration to me in so many ways. Oh…and if you want a road marathon…what about Rowe Marathon?!?!?

  3. Jen October 30, 2014 at 2:58 pm #

    I for one think your running is extra-special. You are one hell of a strong runner and you inspire so many others with your accomplishments on and off the trails. Plus you have the best ideas for new races! If you decide to do Dirty German again and want some company, let me know. It sounds like a fun race and I’ve never been to Philly.

Leave a Reply

