Happy National Dog Day!

27 Aug

Growing up, I had a menagerie of stuffed dogs and cats that covered my bed.  I had a plan for how to get them all out safely in case of a house fire, and they came with me everywhere.  But I could not have a “real” pet…

 

I have terrible allergies.  When I’m around most dogs and all cats, I get itchy, sneezy, watery eyes, wheezy and miserable.  It is not pretty.  So I spent my whole life wanting a pet, but unable to be around them.  I had never held a dog or cat, never even petted one growing up.  Even taking allergy medicine, I still get super sick around animals.

 

When I met Eric, it was almost a deal breaker for the man who grew up with Irish setters and loves dogs.  Luckily, he stuck around, and shortly after we officially started dating, we went to our friends’ house for a game night.  We knew they had a dog, and on our way over, I told Eric that this would probably be a short evening.  To our surprise, I didn’t get sick, even after hours of being there.  That night, Eric started researching springerdoodles from the breeder Eric and Julie had used (who sadly no longer breed springerdoodles).  When we finally decided to put in a deposit, we got an email back that all the puppies from their current litters were gone.  Eric was devastated.

 

2 days later, we got another email that the people who had claimed Picasso didn’t want a brown dog, so if we were interested, he was ours!!  We drove to some little podunk town to meet him and I was instantly in love.  I had never even pet a dog, so holding this tiny, warm body that wriggled and squirmed and was so alive…it was strange and exhilarating.  I’ve held more babies than I can count, and the feeling I had that day was similar to the feeling I have holding babies–just knowing that I could hold such great responsibility for something that was living and needed me…it was amazing.

 

I had heard how dogs become members of your family, how they are intuitive, how they understand and respond to human emotion.  I always scoffed at it.  Until Picasso.  He is so smart, can do amazing tricks, knows his right from his left, and is just such a good boy.  I talk to him all the time, and I often don’t even realize I am doing it until someone calls me on it.  He is a great protector, loves to run and hike with us, snuggles like a champ, and is amazing with kids.  He has a personality, that’s for sure…

 

So in honor of my best four-legged friend, some of my favorite pics of “Dog Dog.”

Day One: A little unsure

Day One: A little unsure

With his daddy, who generously gave him his toes and fingers to chew on through the crate those first few nights of crying because he missed his pack...now he has a better one!

With his daddy, who generously gave him his toes and fingers to chew on through the crate those first few nights of crying because he missed his pack…now he has a better one!

a tired little bugger

a tired little bugger

I take credit for teaching him early to snuggle

I take credit for teaching him early to snuggle

First bath--he peed all over me.  Who would've thought he'd eventually learn to love the water!

First bath–he peed all over me. Who would’ve thought he’d eventually learn to love the water!

Tug of war

Tug of war

bath round 2--maybe if I get in with him, he'll be less scared??? Nope.  Trying to escape...

bath round 2–maybe if I get in with him, he’ll be less scared??? Nope. Trying to escape…

meeting his brother (and the reason we got a puppy), Murphy, for the first time!

meeting his brother (and the reason we got a puppy), Murphy, for the first time!

At one point in time, we had a hamster, too.  Picasso loved chasing it in it's little ball haha

At one point in time, we had a hamster, too. Picasso loved chasing it in it’s little ball haha

Every Christmas morning (and Thanksgiving and Easter, too!) we go for a family run!

Every Christmas morning (and Thanksgiving and Easter, too!) we go for a family run!

This boy loves playing in the snow...and playing soccer...

This boy loves playing in the snow…and playing soccer…

camp!

camp!

camp!

camp!

run! jump!!!

run! jump!!!

Now he loves the water and we can't keep him out!

Now he loves the water and we can’t keep him out!

A great hiker, too!  Handles the mountains like a champ!

A great hiker, too! Handles the mountains like a champ!

loves snuggling

loves snuggling

Great with kids--my siblings won't leave him alone and he just lets them chase him around and love him up.

Great with kids–my siblings won’t leave him alone and he just lets them chase him around and love him up.

Don't matter the weather--this dog loves to be outside!

Doesn’t matter the weather–this dog loves to be outside!

In fact, he may like the snow best of all?

In fact, he may like the snow best of all?

swimming in the pool

swimming in the pool

 

I love you, little man.  You are the best doggy I could’ve ever asked for.  ❤

 

2 Responses to “Happy National Dog Day!”

  1. nomeatbarefeet August 27, 2014 at 11:27 am #

    I didn’t realize it was National Dog Day! Argh! I’ll have to write a post up real quick. Great post. Thanks for sharing the history of your doggie-family. It is amazing how much a dog can become part of your family—how connected you become with one another. Keep sharing pics and stories of your travels and fun with Picasso. He is a sweetie. Hopefully we can get Arlo back to see him again.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. National Dog Day Post | nomeatbarefeet - August 27, 2014

    […] apparently yesterday was National Dog Day……who knew? Well, our friends Sheila and Eric certainly did. With their helpful post in mind I thought I do a quick post in tribute to our little […]

Leave a Reply

