don’t blink

12 Jul

There’s this great country song that I absolutely love called “Don’t Blink.”  You should listen to it, but if you don’t want to, the gist of the lyrics is there’s an old guy who’s turning 102, and his life advice is “don’t blink” so you don’t miss anything because life moves so quickly.  It’s such a great message and the older I get the more I believe it.  I remember being a kid and wishing I was older and feeling like time stood still.  Now every year seems to fly by quicker than the one before.

 

Sometimes I am surprised when I realize how long Eric and I have been together, how long we’ve been married.  It doesn’t seem like it’s been that long.  Before Eric, anyone I dated lasted about 6 months–enough time for me to get to know him and get bored of him.  That never happened with Eric (obviously).  We are constantly adventuring, constantly DOING things.  We are rarely home–we’re running, hiking, canoeing, out with friends, volunteering on a trail somewhere…There are not many times when we are not laughing.  Life is never boring with Eric, that’s for sure.

 

I don’t feel like it was 5 years ago that we got married.  I know when I look at the pictures–when I see how different we looked (subtle differences I guess) and see how young my siblings were.  I know when I reflect back on all of the things we’ve done, places we’ve gone and experiences we’ve shared.

 

This week, I read a quote that I really liked.  “What if love wasn’t the act of finding what you were missing, but the give-and-take that made you both match?”  I feel like that sums us up so well.  I would never climb a mountain on my own.  But with Eric, I will.  I would probably not run, either, but with Eric, I will.  There are so many other examples of things that I do now because of him, because they are things that are important to him, and so have become important to me.  And it goes both ways.  The give-and-take is what makes things work with us.

 

The song we danced to at our wedding is called Then by Brad Paisley.  The lyrics go:

I can just see you with a baby on the way

I can just see you when our hair is turning gray

What I can’t see is how I’m ever gonna love you more

But I’ve said that before

Now you’re my whole life, now you’re my whole world

I just can’t believe the way I feel about you, girl

We’ll look back someday at this moment that we’re in

And I’ll look at you and say I thought I loved you then.

 

I love the song.  It’s so true.  In this moment, I can’t imagine loving Eric more than I do.  But I’ve thought that so many other times in our relationship.  It’s exciting to see how far we’ve come, and it’s even more exciting to think about what the future might hold.

 

So here’s to 5 great years and more importantly many more great years to come!!!!!!!!!!  And without further ado, here are some of my favorite pictures from our wedding and from trashing the dress–we never look at them anymore, but I figure 5 years in is a good time to revisit!

with my baby sisters

with my baby sisters

buncha hotties

buncha hotties

 

they were so tiny

they were so tiny

 

the crew

the crew

 

you can dress us up...

you can dress us up…

 

couldn't resist the slide and playground

couldn’t resist the slide and playground

 

my leanna banana

my leanna banana

 

on our way into the reception!

on our way into the reception!

broke the table.  saved the flowers and beers.  that's how my boys roll...

broke the table. saved the flowers and beers. that’s how my boys roll…

 

no one i'd rather be with this sweaty and gross from a night of crazy dancing <3

no one i’d rather be with this sweaty and gross from a night of crazy dancing ❤

 

trashin my dress at letchworth

trashin my dress at letchworth

before getting in the water at wolf creek

before getting in the water at wolf creek

wedding14

when i dip, you dip, we dip

when i dip, you dip, we dip

 

 

One Response to “don’t blink”

  1. Jen July 15, 2014 at 11:59 am #

    Adorable! I love this!

Leave a Reply

