#TrailsRoc–thankfulness

2 Apr

Yesterday night, we had our course preview run of this month’s Mess the Dress race.  There were about 20 people who came out to run the 5 mile course with us.  I had already logged 2 miles, so I willingly volunteered to be the sweeper for the group.  On my run, I alternated hanging out with a woman who had just run a half marathon two days before and 2 women who were training for Ragnar (and our race, of course).  We spent over an hour running through mud, muck and a lot of puddles, all while chatting about the different races we’ve run.

The conversation eventually came to Ragnar, which then turned the conversation to money–relay races are pricey when you add in registration and van rental, and when you multiply by 2 (because Eric and I would run together), it’s just never been something we’ve deemed “worth it.”  I completely understand how other people say it is, but for us, it’s just never seemed like a viable option.  The Ragnar conversation catapulted us into a conversation about running/race budgets.  And that’s when it hit me.  Most people have finite amounts of money to spend on running races.  Duh.  I know that, but I guess I’d never really thought about it before…

 

So runners have all of these amazing, well-established, and in some cases national races to choose from–yet they come back to us.  Instead of giving $25 bucks to another group for another race, people are choosing us.  That’s really super cool.  Yesterday, as I realized this, I felt so proud to be part of #TrailsRoc and to have created professional events that people love to race as much as some of the other older races that are led by much more experienced race directors. 

 

So thank you, trail runners, for always putting your faith in us and racing our races.  Thank you for coming out no matter the weather, no matter the time, no matter the course.  Trail runners show up, and that means so much to me.  You all rock!

Image

Leave a Reply

