Dresses

27 Feb

When I was a kid, I was kind of a tomboy.  I hated shopping–my mom and Val would go to the mall, and I’d stay home to read or play outside with the boys down the street.  When I made my first Communion, my parents dropped the rest of the kids off at my Oma and Grandpa’s house.  I insisted I should just stay there too, my mom could pick out a dress for me.  They forced me to come to “pick out something I liked.”  We walked in and I pointed to the first dress in the store–“that’s the one.”

I don’t know when the change from hating dresses to loving them happened.  But I can honestly say I love dresses.  Casual, knit comfy dresses or satiny, fancy dresses.  Anything in between.  I love them.  In the summer, they are the most comfortable thing to wear–so cool and breezy.  You can dress them up or dress them down.  They can be cute, sexy or comfy.  They say every girl needs a little black dress. I have 4 LBDs (and a couple more that are black and another color).

I love getting dressed up.  I wish there were more occasions to do so.  When I wish that I had pursued a career in law, I think part of it is that I wish I did something that warranted beautiful suits and pencil skirts and fancy heels.  I used to dress up more for work, but now especially that I’m working with little kids, it’s not practical.

This past weekend, we were at a wedding.  I had forgotten to grab a scarf for over my shoulders during the ceremony.  I asked my mom to borrow one of hers and she directed me to her closet.  I opened it and found half a closet full of dresses.  All different colors and styles.  Beautiful, fun dresses.  And my first thought was: “This is where I get my dress-buying problem from.  It must be a genetic thing.”

While I own a lot of dresses, I love that I never spend much on my collection.  The most expensive dress I own is the black one I wore this weekend–it was on sale for 25 bucks and I almost put it back because that was more than I’d spent on a dress in a long time.  I’m so glad I didn’t put it back–it’s one of my favorite dresses of all time.  I own a ton of them, but I wear them all the time AND I also have loaned dresses out to friends.  So if you are ever looking for a dress, I’ve got various sizes, styles and colors, and you’re more than welcome to come “shop” my closet for a dress to borrow.  Some of my favorites are below:

dress2

Little red dress!

dress3

My all time favorite LBD–black lace 🙂

dress4

one of the oldest dresses I own–this bad boy dates back to high school days…

dress5

wish I had a better pic of my dress from Espana…

dress6

My rehearsal dinner dress…that I’ve worn several times since including here, in Bermuda for Charlie and Jen’s wedding!

dress7

The infinity dress that I sewed for myself–you can tie the top in a billion different ways!

dress8

yet another little red dress…

My wedding dress played on the playground on our wedding day, danced like crazy all night long, got trashed at letchworth on the trails and train tracks and in the creek, and then got cut up and made into a party dress and tree skirt.  lotta miles on this baby...

My wedding dress played on the playground on our wedding day, danced like crazy all night long, got trashed at letchworth on the trails and train tracks and in the creek, and then got cut up and made into a party dress and tree skirt. lotta miles on this baby…

Leave a Reply

