Sappy Romantic Comedies

18 Jan

I just finished my 4th book of 2014.  The Greece Town Library (which is amazing–I highly recommend checking it out if you haven’t already) has these really cool book marks on shelf end caps.  Each one is “If you like ____ [author or genre], try these ____” with suggestions for new, lesser-known authors.  Maybe other libraries do this, but I’ve never seen it before.  I LOVE them.  I grabbed a stack of them last time we were there, and I’ve been working my way through the lists each time I go to the library.

 

So my 4th book was called Rosie Dunne, by Cecilia Ahern.  It was a great, super-easy, beach-book-type read.   The whole thing is told through letters/emails/instant messages between characters, so it’s kind of a different structure from “normal” books.  And it’s all about growing up, love lost and love found, and following your dreams.  ❤  *sigh*  ❤  I’m such a nerd girl. 

 

Anyway, I bookmarked a couple of quotes that I LOVED from the book.

 

“It’s funny because when you’re a child, you believe you can be anything you want to be, go wherever you want to go.  There’s no limit to what you can dream.  You expect the unexpected, you believe in magic, in fairy tales, and in possibilities.  Then you grow older and that innocence is shattered and somewhere along the way the reality of life gets in the way and you’re hit by the realizatioin that you can’t be all you wanted to be, you just might have to settle for a little bit less.

Or perhaps a variation of what you once wanted.

Why do we stop believing in ourselves?  Why do we let facts and figures and anything but dreams rule our lives?”

 

I loved this quote.  It’s so true.  Another thing that I loved about this book is it followed the characters through pretty much their entire lives.  It was cool to see the transformations of each one, to see which hopes and dreams remained constant throughout and which ones changed.  It made me reflect a lot on my own childhood dreams, where I thought I’d be, and where I am now.  For example:  I always imagined I’d be a cool big sister, but I always pictured myself with super dark, super curly hair driving a navy blue truck/larger vehicle.  No idea.  But as a teenager, that was how I saw the 20-something-year-old Shme.  Not even close… I also planned out the names of my 6 children I was going to have, using sidewalk chalk, out front of my house as a kid.  I wrote my only son’s name on top of the sewer cover because I didn’t really want a boy (but figured I’d probably have at least 1 if I had 6 kids).  Funny how now the thought of having daughters terrifies me and I hope that we have lots of boys instead. haha.

Anyway, the point is that it’s interesting to me that we dream so big as kids, but then for whatever reason, some of those big dreams get too scary to pursue…and I loved this quote.

 

“You deserve someone who loves you with every single beat of his heart, someone who thinks about you constantly, someone who spends every minutes of every day just wondering what you’re doing, where you are, who you’re with, and if you’re OK.  You need someone who can help you reach your dreams and who can protect you from your fears.  You need someone who will treat you with respect, love every part of you, especially your flaws.  You should be with someone who can make you happy, really happy, dancing on air happy.”

 

I was thinking the other day about my baby sisters.  This is what I want for them.  (And really for all of my siblings, friends and other family members, too!)  I want them to meet men who are strong and will protect them, but will not shelter them from life or make them scared to try things.  I want them to meet men who will love them for exactly who they are, who will bring out the best qualities in them.  I want them to be happy, dancing on air happy.  Sappy Shme loved this quote and especially loved that it was in a love letter between characters.  What girl doesn’t want sappy love letters about how much she’s loved????

 

 

Leave a Reply

