so many hikes, so little time…

7 Jan

I love traveling.  I love seeing new places, meeting new people and finding myself surrounded by beautiful nature.  When I think back to my favorite memories in the past few years, almost all of them involve being outside exploring.  I don’t necessarily consider myself particularly religious, but I do think of myself as spiritual.  There is no place I feel more at peace or think that there MUST be a higher power (whatever that power is…) other than out in nature.

 

I really want to take a cross-country road trip.  I am dying to get out west and see what things are like out there.  The pictures I’ve seen are breath taking.   Sadly, I’m not sure it’s going to work out this summer.  0 SPF kind of throws a monkey wrench in the plan (unless Eric takes August off instead of July).  I’m not sure how the race in the future is going to work with still being able to go on some kind of road trip adventure, all I know is I’m getting anxious to get out there, and we need to take the trip sooner rather than later.  I don’t want to wait much longer.  I’ve built the trip up so much in my head–packing the car, bringing the dog and just going–no real set plans, just driving, maybe some idea of what we want to do and where we want to go, but also the freedom to just cruise along and explore.  An adventure.  A big adventure.

road trip

In any event, in case the cross country thing really doesn’t work out this year, the new plan will be to go for some road trips on the east coast to explore and hike.  I’ve been doing some preliminary research, and I’m thinking that maybe a good alternative plan would be to do a loop around the time when we’re in Indian Lake for our annual trip.  We could hit up the high peak in Vermont, followed by New Hampshire, followed by Massachusetts, followed by Connecticut, then home (or Indian Lake, if we did high peaks first).  Alternately, we could head south-ish and find some nice beaches/coastal trails to check out.   Either way, I’m sure we’ll have a fantastic time exploring, hiking, climbing, swimming and seeing amazingly beautiful things!

Leave a Reply

