Good things to come in 2014

31 Dec

I’m not a big believer in New Year’s Resolutions.  I think it’s important to spend the entire year thinking about how to be a better person and how to improve oneself.  That being said, it’s inevitable that at this time of year, I start thinking about what I can do differently in the coming year.

This year, I want to (or maybe need to) really focus on being thankful for all of the amazing things in my life.  Wanting a baby so badly makes it sometimes hard to see all the good that I have been blessed with.  I was thinking the other day how ready I was for 2013 to be gone and 2014 to start, then I realized that 2013 was actually a really great year for me (minus my failing ovaries).  I got an awesome new job teaching something I love to kids who are absolutely amazing.  Plus I make more money, which is not super important except that it’s allowing us to pay down debt (and get closer to a house on the water and early retirement) so much faster, and that’s a really amazing and empowering feeling.   #TrailsRoc took off in ways that none of us could have foreseen, and we met so many amazing people who I feel so fortunate to call friends.  I ran another marathon (and half and 5k, among other races), and while it didn’t go exactly as planned, I still PR-ed and had an absolute blast.  I cut up my wedding dress, which is one of the boldest things I think I’ve ever done (I just thought of it because I’m looking at my Christmas tree skirt).   There were just so many good things to happen in 2013.  It was a really good year.  I am a really lucky person.

gratitude

So with that realization in mind, there are a few things I would like to do this year.

1.  Gratitude jar:  I’ve seen this idea on pinterest, and I think it’s adorable.  Throughout the year, when something good happens, or a good memory is made, you write it down and put it in a jar.  On December 31st, you empty the jar and reread all the good stuff that happened.  I’m torn between doing that and making a gratitude journal, but the idea is the same–to really focus on all of the good things as they are happening and have a way to look back at them, especially if things are not going the way I want them to…

I love everything about this idea...

I love everything about this idea…

2.  52 influential people:  I read a blog this morning with this idea and I love it.  I will be making a list of 52 influential people and writing one letter a week to those people.  I said that I wanted to write more actual letters in the coming year–it’s always cool to get mail from people who are not bill collecting.  So this combines writing letters with an actual purpose.  I am surrounded by so many amazing, beautiful people, and it seems like a no-brainer to write letters thanking them for being a part of my life and making me who I am.

Image

3.  More bike riding/cross training:  I’m not a huge fan of exercise.  If it weren’t for all of the amazing people I’ve met through running, I might not do it anymore. Ha.  In any event, I know that ONLY running is tough–it can cause a lot of injuries, and I don’t want that.  Also, we bought a trainer AND mountain bikes, so I really need to use them both.  So in 2014, my goals are 1.5 hours of biking a week (which is not much, but I figure in the winter, that’s about all I’m going to want to do–after about 30 minutes on the trainer, I am ready to be done–which may have something to do with the trainer being a tad too big for my midget legs, making it not the most comfortable experience).  In any event, I figure adding 1.5 hours of biking a week to my running will only have positive effects.  In addition, I need to do at least 1 day of strength training a week.  Again, this seems very small, but I really hate doing it, and I get into good grooves, but then fall out of them.  So this year, I’m trying to make sure that I stay in a good groove, even if that groove is only a once a week groove.  Oh and I would like to be able to do a chin up by the end of 2014.  I’m pretty close to it now, but it would be cool to actually be able to.  And a pull up wouldn’t suck either.

Image

you can’t tell in the picture, but i am actually terrified after almost falling off my bike when i hit a small stone. this year, i will learn to be a more confident rider.

4.  52 books this year.  I love to read.  There is something very satisfying to me to open up a book and finish it on the same day–reading all night long.  I love losing myself in a good plot, falling in love with characters.  During the school year, I don’t read as much, but on vacations, I can get through a lot.  Case in point, in the past week, I’ve already read 1.5 books.  So 1 book a year this year.   🙂

So that’s it.  My plan for a really, really, amazingly fantastic, spectacular 2014.  I am ready to celebrate the end of a good year with some of our closest running friends tonight and literally run into the new year, excited and ready for all of the good things that I know are coming my (our) way this year!

Leave a Reply

