Going long…

23 Nov

Today I ran double digits for the first time in a long time.  By a long time, I mean since August 10.  Before that it was July 3.  And before that, it was the marathon, which was in May.  Wow.  I knew my running had kind of fallen off, but I had no idea to what extent.  I’ve still been running, but shorter distances, typically between 4 and 7 miles.  It’s funny how perspective can change so much in such a relatively short amount of time.  I still remember when I thought anything over 3 miles was a long run and anything over 5 was unnecessarily long.

 

Running long doesn’t always feel good when you’re doing it.  In the moment, it sometimes is pretty miserable.  Particularly when you’re getting back into it and everyone else around you has been doing it already, so it’s no big thing to them.  But if  you can hang on through that crappiness, when you’re done, you have the most amazing runner’s high ever.  Non-runners may scoff at that (I know I used to), but it’s true.   This afternoon, I was feeling pretty unstoppable (til I took that nap on the couch haha).

 

Today’s run felt OK up til mile 8.5ish.  We were at Black Creek Park with a good sized group for the first 6 and some change miles.  Chatting and checking out some new trail that was just built was cool.  When we got back to the cars, a small group of us went back out to get in 10 miles.  We came back to the cars again around 8ish, and I didn’t even once consider calling it quits, which surprised me and made me proud.  We set back out, onto more of the rolling, wide, grassy paths.  We had come out to a road and I just decided I didn’t want to do the grassy paths anymore.  Love me some single track, but for some reason I find grassy fields really tough to run.  I bailed on the little group we were with and took the road all the way to the other side of the park.  I had a brief moment of “uh oh” when I thought that I was mistaken, that the bridge/pathway that I knew connected the side I was on with the side I was parked on was not where I thought.  But I found it, just where I had thought it was, and made it back to the car.  Triumphant.  10 miles.  Boom.  Double digits.

 

Tonight I am tired.  Newbie runner tired.  I remember this feeling.  This is the feeling I got training for my first marathon–Saturday mornings I’d run long, then come home completely and utterly exhausted, laying on the couch the rest of the day and trying to recover.  And while this feeling tonight is similar, I know it’s not the same.  I’m a stronger runner, physically and mentally.  And that’s why tomorrow, I will get up.  I will brave the cold and the ice (already hating winter, for the record) to meet some friends and put in some more miles.  Because it’s what I do.

 

run

 

Also, this is hilarious.  There is a plethora of hilarious Mo Farah running away from things memes out there.  Awesome stuff.

mo

 

Leave a Reply

