Park Ave pensamientos

9 Nov

Today I drove down Park Ave, like I do every day, on my way to my second job of the day.  For some reason, my mind drifted to when I had first moved onto Park Ave.  I was 21, fresh out of college, fresh start at my new job teaching Spanish.  I was so young–I look back and realize just how young, even though at the time I thought I was so grown.  I had a pretty sweet apartment–right on Park, 2 bedrooms (unnecessary, but of all the places I looked at it was the cheapest AND nicest, so I was sold, even though I never used the second room), a teeny tiny kitchen and bedroom, and windows that looked right out to Park.  It was heaven.  I’m really lucky–I never had to live in a really crappy apartment.  My whole life, I’ve had really nice housing.  Lucky.

 

Anyway, I had moved into this great new apartment, and I decided to take a walk down Park Ave.  This was before I started running, so I had no concept of distance.  I decided to go see what was going on.  I put on a cute outfit and a new pair of high heel sandals.  I walked from my place (near Colby) all the way to Alexander Street and the bars, then back home, which I think was like 2 miles.  By the time I got home, my feet were bleeding and I could hardly walk.  I was miserable.  But damn if I didn’t look cute.

 

Today, as I was driving down Park, I was reliving that and laughing at that silly 21-year-old girl and all of her insecurities.  I still have moments of insecurity.  I suppose those never go away, no matter how old you get.  But I know that I am beyond the point of wearing uncomfortably painful shoes just to look cute.   And that makes me feel just a little bit better about myself and how far I’ve come since then.

2 Responses to “Park Ave pensamientos”

  1. Cait November 9, 2013 at 12:48 am #

    I started reading this story remember that awesome apartment- you were right around the corner from us and I was so happy you were so close after graduating.

    By the time I got to the end of this post I was chuckling to myself because my very first visit to your apartment was shortly after that walk happened. I remember sitting in your kitchen listening to that story.

    Miss you!

    • shmeruns November 9, 2013 at 1:41 am #

      I remember walking to Dog Town from your place on Oxford one night. Random memories! hahaha. Miss you, too!!!

Leave a Reply

