built for comfort

11 Aug

This morning, I almost didn’t get out of bed to go the Dam Good Trail Run Preview.  I knew I could not run the whole thing (14 miles) because my running has really slipped a lot this summer.  And I certainly knew I was not interested in “running” something like 0 SPF.  That is not running to me.  I know some people find the challenging, un-run-able hills satisfying in some sick, sadistic way.  I am not one of them.  I am much too delicate to run those kind of courses and actually enjoy them.  Someone once said “I’m built for comfort not speed” about their running/body (I wish I could remember who).  I’d like to shorten it and just say that I’m built for comfort.  I do not find enjoyment in putting my body into hurtful and severely uncomfortable situations.

 

So my alarm went off this morning, I rolled over, hit snooze and decided not to go.  But then I thought about the new bikini I bought yesterday at Marshalls and how happy my body has been making me lately.  I have some serious body image issues, so it is a big deal that I have been getting out of bed most days this summer feeling good (mostly) about the way I look, and trying some new workouts to challenge myself in new ways and get stronger and healthier.  So I decided I may as well go along, do a short run, then chill and read my book in the sun while I waited for the crew to come back.

 

I’m so glad I went.  We had a really fun drive down (we ended up carpooling with Rob and Heather).  I spent the first 3.5 miles running with Amy, chatting happily and taking all the scenery in.  At 3.5, I turned back for the car and ran alone.  I freaked myself out thinking about the Walking Dead, so I was sprinting a lot of sections, scanning for zombies until I almost fell on a mud slick.  I got to the car, ate a Honey Stinger Gel (I’ve never used gels before, but have decided to try them since we have so many in our house now).  It was gross, but I think part of that was the consistency and part was that it had been sitting in a car in the sun for over an hour.  I headed back out to test how my stomach reacted to it.  I did 1.5 out, then turned back for home.  I was not at the car for too long before people started trickling in from the full run–I never even touched my book or magazines!  We hung in the parking lot with all kinds of cool kids, talking, laughing, and eating homemade guac (my newest obsession). 

 

I’ve talked before about how running is a very sensory experience for me sometimes–especially when I’m on a trail.  I’ve been trying to run alone more lately because then I can really dial in on those senses (also, I desperately need speed work sessions to rebuild the speed I’ve seemingly lost during my running-seriously-hiatus). 

 

This morning, as I was coming back towards the parking lot a second time, I had a super-sensory moment.  I found myself wishing there was a way to capture that feeling I got, like a picture, but more than that.  It was like an out-of-body experience in a way–I felt like I was flying along, not doing work, just moving, naturally, freely.  The sun was dancing around because the trees were moving gently in the breeze.  The gorge was to my left, and I was struck by how massive it is and conversely how tiny I am in the grand scheme of things.  The breeze was blowing at my face, which was warm and sweaty–I could feel the saltiness when I wiped my brow with my hand, scraping a little bit.  The breeze was cool, and it felt so good against the heat of my skin.  My feet were moving in time with my breathing–2 steps on the breath in, 2 steps on the breath out.  Everything was just working the way it should be.  And it felt good.  Really good.  Better than it has in a long time.

 

Tonight I’m tired.  10 miles is the farthest I’ve run in a LONG time.  Like months really.  I am a little sore.  But the good sore.  That satisfying sore from working hard and accomplishing something you thought you couldn’t.  Maybe I am not just built for comfort…

One Response to “built for comfort”

  1. Jen August 11, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

    You’re built for awesomeness!

Leave a Reply

