Today’s meals and an observation

5 Aug

I guess I should start with my observation.  Today, as I was again lamenting the incredible pain in the ass that my vandalized/thieved car has become (we have most decidedly NOT been in good hands), I realized something.  Life is really not that bad.  I may have been blowing things way out of proportion.  Did we not get to finish our scheduled runs because we had to deal with cops/insurance? Yup.  Is this a huge headache? Yup.  Is it totally unfair and unwarranted?  Yup.  Am I sad that I’m missing my favorite long-sleeved tech shirt, amazing sexy librarian glasses, and a library book I was part-way through?  Yup. 

But no one got hurt.  Nothing irreplaceable was taken from me (sadly, the same is not true for the other woman whose car was broken in to).  My car will be fixed (even if it’s not as quickly as I would like or I think is reasonable).  We are both alive, healthy (relatively), we have a great house, we have cars, we have a wonderful dog, amazing friends and family, we eat well every day…life is good.  Really good. 

 

I’ve been meaning to start a gratitude journal for a long time now.  When we first started dating, Eric and I would do “high point/low point” every night before bed–just to check in with each other.  So I am starting a gratitude journal–write the best part of the day down in as little or as many words as I feel like.  I think it would be cool to look back in a few months or even a few years to see what was good at a certain time in life.  Even when things seem bad, there is always something to be grateful for…

 

And now on to my meals for the day.  If you didn’t see my post from yesterday, I’m going to be recording what I eat each day in kind of a “food journal” type blog to stay accountable to this reduced carb diet.  I am a big carb eater, so I have to do something…

 

I forgot to take some pics today.  But here’s what I ate:

breakfast: protein smoothie–handful of spinach, handful of berries, cup of OJ, scoop of vanilla protein powder.

mid-morning snack–fresh peach (OMG i love peaches. i think they’re my second favorite fruit)

lunch–baby spinach with some shredded cheddar cheese, croutons and ceasar dressing

mid-afternoon snack–sour cream and onion potato chips (technically they’re gluten free and i had to get rid of them somehow and throwing out such deliciousness didn’t even cross my mind…now those green beans in the fridge…)

dinner–grilled speedie chicken (speedie sauce is a marinade you can buy at Wegmans and it’s pretty delicious) and fresh garden veggies–zucchini, yellow squash and patty pan squash–sauteed with olive oil, salt and pepper

dessert–apparently we are going to get ice cream!  wheat belly says to limit dairy, but it doesn’t have to be completely eliminated. 

So that’s today. 

Leave a Reply

