New running goals

3 Jun

It’s been one week since I ran the marathon.  I feel like it’s been a month.  I got up this morning and ran 5.5 long, hard miles on the 0 SPF course.  It was brutal–major hills and major humidity.  But Lisa was there, and we had some good conversations, I also got to run with some other trail people who I love, and I ran for over and hour and I felt good knowing I had done it. 

 

The problem with a huge goal like a marathon is that once it’s over, you feel like life is meaningless.  It’s a real thing–the depression that happens post-race.  I’m not depressed at all.  But I do feel lazy and like I’m lacking a focus.  The school year is winding down, and that’s only increasing my need to refocus my life. 

 

So I needed a new running goal.  Or a few.  Nothing crazy.  I’d love to run another marathon, but they’re too expensive.  [Interestingly, I have no problem in my head this time around picturing another marathon or even ultra.  I was kind of sad that I didn’t run a little bit faster last weekend, but looking back, I’m glad that I felt so good and had such a great experience this time around because I have NO qualms about saying that I will run another marathon some day.]  I can’t justify spending another 70 bucks on a race this soon after [races need to be cheaper–wtf with $100+ races??], and there are some other personal goals that I’ve set that will make a marathon a little impractical.  PLUS, I think there’s something to be said for switching it up a little, having some fun with running, finding some other things to focus on other than “going the distance.” 

Last fall, with NO specific training, after a summer of “fun” runs and long, slow trails, I ran a HUGE 5k PR.  24:30.  When I first started running, I was convinced I’d never run faster than a 10 minute mile.  There are certain points in my running “career” that are turning points, and that day was one of them.  I never thought I could run that fast.  I learned that day that my body is capable of more than I give it credit for.

 

SO…my new goal is to run a faster 5k time.  I think my target race will be the Jungle Jog–it runs through Seneca Park (one of my FAVORITE places to run in Rochester), and you get free entry into the zoo with your race entry fee.  Perfecto.  Oh and it’s a downhill finish.  And I’m a pretty stellar downhill runner. 

 

To reach this goal, I will be doing p90x 2-3 times a week.  Basically, I’m following the “lean” plan when it comes to the strength training.  Mondays will be my legs and back day, Wednesdays my upper body day, and Ab Ripper X will be on both those days as well.  Tuesdays will be an easy run, Thursdays will be speedwork, and Saturdays will be long runs.  My neighbor has registered for her first half, and I’ve promised to run some long runs with her, so I may switch some of the long runs to Sunday.  I should be running between 25 and 30 miles a week (maybe more some weeks).  Combine that with the strength training, and I should be good to go. 

 

So new focus.  That will take me to the end of July.  At which point, I will find a new goal or two.  Or be in a place where I’m ok having “no goal” as my new goal.  🙂

One Response to “New running goals”

  1. Jen June 4, 2013 at 5:16 pm #

    I love the Jungle Jog! It smells bad in some spots but it’s one of my favorite 5Ks in Rochester.

Leave a Reply

