Some marathon quotes

29 May

Before I get into the quotes, let me just say that I did not anticipate feeling nearly this good post-marathon.  In fact, by Monday night, I was thinking about when I would do another.  Not if.  WHEN.  Sweet.  That being said, I’m having a hard time taking a “rest” week (and really it should be 2 I think).  Yesterday, I went to Durand with my boys.  Eric had to do speedwork, and I took Picasso for a long walk.  I purposely did not wear a sports bra so I couldn’t run, but still found myself jogging very short segments (VERY SHORT–the girls need to be properly restrained if I’m going to be bouncing around).  Tomorrow, we have our Thursday night group run, and I am going to do another walk. But I am ready to get back into running and training, and need to pick some targets. And I am SUPER excited to be running long runs and training with Bethany, our neighbor who is going to run her first half marathon this fall!!!

 

Anyway, when I ran Corning, I had a bunch of quotes that I pulled to motivate myself during my run.  It was fabulous, so I decided to do it again for Buffalo.  It did not work as well the second time around.  Honestly, I loved having so much support on the course, and the loops of the course instead of a point-to-point probably made that much easier to coordinate than it would’ve been at Corning.  In Buffalo, I was distracted enough by my spectators–I didn’t really use the quotes, and they didn’t really compare to the boost I got every time I saw a friend or family member.  But in case someone out there is looking for a list of quotes to use, here are the ones that I compiled (from various sources).  I didn’t write down who said these things because that would’ve taken to much space on the papers.  Hahaha. 

The moments we think we can’t are the opportunities to prove we can.

Embrace the struggle and let it make you stronger.  It won’t last forever.

It doesn’t matter if you’re a lion or a gazelle–when the sun comes up, you’d better be running. (This is from a fable thing.)

It is a shame for a woman to grow old without seeing the strength and beauty of which her body is capable.

Wherever you are, be all there.

She stood in the storm and when the wind didn’t blow her away, she adjusted her sails.

Run with your heart, not with your legs.

Runners don’t die, they just smell like it.

Running’s a pain in the ass, but it sure gives you a nice one!

When you feel like giving up, remember why you held on so long in the first place.

Tough times don’t last, but tough people do.

What you are doing right now is good enough.

Trust yourself–just run.

If it hurts, run faster. You won’t feel better, but you’ll be done sooner.

Courage.  We all suffer.  Keep going.

A river cuts through rock not because of its power but because of its persistance.

Breath through it.  [This one helped me the most out of the ones I did pull–which was really only about half.  I found myself repeating it like a mantra a few times on Sunday…]

Don’t stop.  Keep going.  Push harder.

So that’s that.  I need to find a way to burn some calories because I am eating like it’s my job.  I’m starving.  Major case of the rungries…:)

Leave a Reply

