‘Twas the night before marathon…

26 May

‘Twas the night before marathon and all through the house…

The girls were snuggled in bed after teeth-brushing, prayer-saying, and tuck-inning (we’re pseudo-babysitting my siblings, who are really not young enough to need babysitting anymore, sadly), the dog was getting lots of attention from my brother, the boys and leanne were watching the hockey game…

…and I was strangely calm.

I’ve been anticipating being nervous. I was relatively nervous at the beginning of the week. And yet, as the week has gone on, I have become more and more calm. I keep thinking about my training, how strong I’ve become. My only twinges of anything resembling nervousness (it’s not nerves, it’s more just acute awareness, I think) are when I notice a little dull aching in my knee or hip (all that relative rest and I’m still noticing it–or maybe I’m just noticing it more because I’m thinking about it since I’ll be running farther tomorrow than I’ve run in almost 2 years).

I don’t know how to describe what I’m feeling—I guess mostly it’s just resignation.

Tomorrow morning, I will run 26.2 miles. It will hurt. I will be tired. There will be times that I want to quit. But I will soldier on and go the distance. Eric and Leanne will be riding their bikes, meeting me at different points on the course. My dad and little sisters are going to be down there, too, he thinks around mile 7 or 8. My aunt might come out. My in-laws are going to try to make it down, maybe around mile 21 or 22. I’ve never had even half of this kind of “crowd support.” I’m not sure if I’ll like it or not. I can be very emotional when I’m running. I hope seeing them doesn’t set me off and make me cry. Haha. I have my “inspiration” quotes all self-laminated (which is what I did before Corning, so I did it again for superstition, I guess). I will post them post-marathon. I have my clothes laid out, my timing chip on my sneaker, my post-race bag packed, and my water belt all ready to go. I made my breakfast sandwich–peanut butter on white bread = breakfast of champions.

By this time tomorrow night, I will be basking in the post-marathon glow (aka not able to sit on the toilet to go pee). I will have been soaking my legs in the cold pool, foam rolling, refueling with Nino’s, rehydrating with beer/wine coolers (haha) and ready to plan my next big adventures! To all of you who helped me through training, I love you and tomorrow, my success is your success. Blog post about that to follow.

But first, I run 26.2!!!

Leave a Reply

