ready

24 May

I am starting to get pumped for Sunday.  I know it will hurt, I know it will be difficult, but I know I can do this.  I am more ready now than I was for Corning.  By a lot. 

 

Before Corning, I’d do my long runs (which were fewer and shorter than the ones I’ve done this time around), and have to sleep for hours afterwards and rest my legs for a couple of days before resuming running.  This time around, I am mostly good after the run–Derby Day was a great example, running 20 miles in the morning, then being in heels, partying until 2 am that night! 

 

I KNOW what to expect this time around.  I know it’s going to hurt, but I have lots of little “tricks” that I can use to help me get through those tough moments.  I have a race-day plan (going with a pace group and then breaking off if I feel good anytime after 18 miles.  I KNOW how much stronger I am this time–physically and mentally. 

 

Re-reading my thoughts after Corning was cool.  I know I am ready.  Last night, surrounded by runners after my last “speed” session, I was just looking around at everyone, happily eating and drinking and talking, and I felt so good.  It’s this indescribably feeling of being a part of this amazing little running community–my “sweat sisters” (and brothers!) who I owe so much to.  Without them, Sunday wouldn’t be possible.  And I love them all so much for the pain I’m about to go through! 🙂

 

I am sincerely hoping I can sit in little kid chairs on Tuesday morning.  😉

Leave a Reply

