truth is

7 Mar

I’ve been down on my running a lot lately.  I’m not sure why.  I just feel like I’m slogging through, forcing something that isn’t there.  My heart hasn’t been 100% into it, and I’m not really sure why.

.

Tonight, we were running and discussing how it’s fun to see progress.  I have seen a TON of progress in the past year and a half or so.  I’ve taken a minute and a half off my miles for anything shorter than a 10k and can comfortably run a 9:30ish pace for longer distances.  I’ve run up to and including 26.2 miles at a time.  I’ve run in the morning, the afternoon, the evening and even the middle of the night.  I’ve run in good weather, bad weather, in between weather.  I’ve run with friends, with frenemies (don’t pretend like you don’t know what I’m talking about), with strangers, with dog-dog, and with just myself.  I’ve run on familiar roads, new roads, and trails, some that I know like the back of my hand and some that I’ve never seen before.

.

And yet somehow I feel like my training isn’t going well, like my running is stagnant–it takes a lot of convincing to get me up and out the door to get these runs in.  Honestly, I’m having a hard time caring much about running.

.

I keep telling myself that this new job is going to make marathon training better.  The better schedule, combined with better weather (running in capris  and rolling my sleeves up tonight felt REALLY good) should make for some really good runs.  But the truth is that right now I just want the marathon to be over.  I’m not into wishing my life away or whatever, but I’d be lying if I said I was enjoying this training.  I’m ready for May to get here so I can run this race and get on with my life.  I guess that’s the point of picking and registering for races–to keep you motivated, especially through the long, dreary, cold winters of WNY.

..

Looking ahead, I’d like to spend this summer:

1.  training for a really fast 5k in the late summer/early fall (I think I may set a goal of 22…that’s 2 minutes faster than my current PR, but I see no reason that’s not possible if I put in the work).

2.  doing really fun long runs on trails all summer (we had a great time this summer at Mendon with great people doing the 50K loop…)

3.  camping like it’s my job (I am beyond pumped for Indian Lake and the ADK this summer…and I think we should do another  backpacking excursion in Allegany…it’s free, minus the gas to get there.  May as well do it up!)

4.  burning shit in the backyard.  I miss campfires.  Eric is the real pyro of the family, but I am definitely number 2.  haha.  There’s something soothing about a fire, chill music, a beer and my boys in the backyard after a long run or a good speedwork session or a hard workout.  I miss that.  I’m ready.  Spring/summer, get here soon, please!

Leave a Reply

